Honda website
Honda website

APRIL 29, 2001

Top stars awarded with Bernies

FORMULA ONE chief Bernie Ecclestone was present at the inaugural awarding of the Grand Prix Bernie awards, named in his honor, at the Circuit de Catalunya on Saturday.

The awards had originally been given to Michael Schumacher, Jenson Button, commentator Murray Walker and FIA safety delegate Professor Sid Watkins at the Grand Prix Party prior to the start of the season.

But neither driver was present to collect their awards, given to Schumacher for best driver and Button for best newcomer, so the ceremony was re-scheduled to take place in the Barcelona paddock this weekend.

Walker was given his award for a lifetime achievement in the sport and Watkins was honored for an outstanding contribution to the safety of Formula One.

Formula One chief Bernie Ecclestone, the man the awards are named after and whose form the trophies take, was in attendance at the awards ceremony at which it was also announced that the Grand Prix party will now be a regular event on the Formula One calendar.